Proper use of chain saw to clean up trails?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
56 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Proper use of chain saw to clean up trails?

JTG4eva!
raisingarizona wrote
JTG4eva! wrote
raisingarizona wrote
If your doing tree work all day long you are gonna fuck up from time to time. Chaps are a must imo. You carry multiple wedges on your person as well and with the really really big trees you are gonna use em.
Hey, I never claimed to be a pro!  Having dropped quite a few trees as a homeowner I relied on proper notching....and the safety of the come along on the big trees.
Shit, I’m far from a pro too! Maybe the very best of the bestbtarely need a wedge but my rookie arse sure did a lot.
Yeah, I probably had just enough knowledge to really make me dangerous!  Like I said, on trees of decent size we always tied the tree off with rope and used the come along.  Effective (but more time consuming than a wedge ) at insuring the tree doesn’t fall in the wrong direction and pulling the tree over.  At least that’s what worked for us!
We REALLY need a proper roll eyes emoji!!
Reply | Threaded
|

Johnnyonthespot
In reply to this post by raisingarizona
   Short answer is I grew up loving these types of tasks. Had coaching from a relative that owns an Arborist company. I really learned when I decided to take down several 80ft Oaks at my house.
    When I was a kid, the big deal was cutting the bottom off a Christmas tree for customers at the family tree yard. Learned to drive a tractor and back up a trailer there too. 7 yrs old. Good times.
I don't rip, I bomb.
Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
COOL Johnny.

I need a guy who can drop at least one big tree in a very specific spot.  It's got to miss a building and a septic field. On the other side are trees I want to keep.