classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
frk
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Northeast Kingdom

frk
I just finished a weekend biking in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. It's been rated as the top biking destination in the east and was recently profiled in the New York Times sunday travel section. On saturday i rented a Trek downhill bike and rode at Burke Mt. I've never tried DH biking before and was a bit nervous after watching too many scary videos, but, I had the time of my life. Only the lower mountain was lift served. You had to hike to the top to try the remaining trails. I couldn't believe what i was able to do after just a few runs. The trail design was spectacular. I'm looking forward to checking out Platty. Any ideas how I can convince my spouse that I need to drop a few thousand on a DH bike? BTW, Burke Mt showed just how crappy Gore's bike trail is.  On sunday, we biked the Darling Hill section. All I can say is Nirvana. I pedaled until the quads were petrified. There were bikers everywhere and there was a dedicated mountain bike shop. Lots of canadians. Too bad it is a long drive but it's worth it. Can't wait to go back. Oh, there are 2 brew pubs nearby.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Northeast Kingdom

demersal