classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
12 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Geeky Electronics Thread

Cunningstunts
Banned User
I had a guy contact me about an amp lately and I haven't built anything in years.  I have a few of my own kicking around but haven't done any engineering or building.  I've also been out of professional engineering for almost two years, and my brain is getting rusty.  Time to brush off the old slide rule...

Decided to build an amp I've never done before.  Base is similar to something I have done, but adding a parallel FX loop.  If you don't know what that is, join the crowd.  Almost no one does.  And it's pretty inconsequential except to a few picky guitar players.

After working out the circuit design details (which are boring to most people) it was to designing the board, laying out the chassis and cutting, soldering and screwing everything together.

Board drill template and component layout.

Board with turrets installed.  There look to be a few extra holes.  I took this board from a proto amp with a very similar layout and drilled out the turrets, added the new holes I need, sanded it up and installed new ones.  Good as new.

I then design up a front panel for the controls.  Sometimes I do rear panels, sometimes I just mark it with a pen.  Depends on budget.

I used to have the panels made with the holes actual size but I got better results using the panel as the drill template and just putting pilot holes in.  I use this to put the holes in the chassis and then enlarge the holes on both.  Matches up much better.

Rough chassis layout.  Sizing where the tube sockets, can caps and transformers will go.  There's also stuff that needs to be mounted on the inside of the chassis so it's tricky to get everything laid out right.  I usually do a visual survey, then draw it up on a computer or paper, and then start drilling holes.