classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
15 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Isola, FR: 02/04/18

Jamesdeluxe
This post was updated on .
A few years back while reading the German-language Alpinforum -- where I steal all my ideas for off-the-beaten-path ski areas in the Alps -- I noticed a number of enticing trip reports from France’s Maritime Alps region, just north of Nice. Like most of us on this side of the Atlantic, I don’t instinctively connect the Côte d'Azur/Riviera with skiing, but those reports made me realise that the region had more than enough for a week-long road trip, with views of the Mediterranean on clear days as a value-added bonus. I've been looking forward to this not only as a skier but also because more than three decades ago as an undergrad I spent a half year in Nice and hadn’t been back since.

To give you an idea of the itinerary, here's the route in the extreme southeastern corner of France:

And a zoom-in with some of the region's ski areas:

After a quick change of planes in Zurich, I arrived in Nice at 10 am. Just walking through the airport, which is directly on the Mediterranean and decorated with plants from the region, was an odd feeling -- kinda like arriving in southern Florida for a ski trip. I got my car and headed north on Autoroute 8, the Route de Grenoble:

Within 15 minutes, it becomes a narrow two-lane road that zigzags through canyons and small villages:

I arrived at Isola at 12:30 for lunch with Cécile and Christian.

Christian and I then got cracking with a 2.5-hour ski tour up through the trees, which was a great way to head off any thoughts of impending jet lag:

That night, I had a fantastic dinner where you take a groomer up the mountain to an atmospheric chalet and hang out with new friends beside a roaring fire, drink lots of wine, and eat fantastic food: