173 messages Options
1234567 ... 9
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Millenials aren’t skiing enough?

Ethan Snow
This post was updated on .
Just read through this thread and all I can say is wow, what a thread!

Hi, My name's Ethan, and I'm a Millennial. Damn, I hate that word. Something about it has a negative ring, to me anyway. I don't like being categorized as a millennial. Ask any of my friends and they'll say I act like an old man, or "share old man qualities" more nicely put.

I also love skiing. Most of you know about Woodstream

I am also a college student, technically. I go to SUNY Delhi which is a technical school in rural Delaware county, only a half hour from Plattekill and Belleayre. A very small number of people on that campus actually ski at either mountain, but there's a few, and there great people. I get a Plattekill pass every year.  I'll have an associates degree in Electrical/mechanical technology (AKA Mechatronics) this spring. Honestly, I'm not sure it was worth the time and small amount of money it cost me. If it wasn't for the generous scholarships I had, there's no way I would have done it. It's just too expensive.

I also Work for myself doing residential construction work whenever I have the opportunity. This past summer I was very busy, and I've been busy a lot of weekends this fall, and I'm busy now on my January break. I'm currently re-moddeling an entryway on an old brick house to make it a more open and inviting floor plan.  I love where I live and I don't plan on going far or giving up skiing unless something astronomical magically happens.

brooklynrob wrote
 Millenials, like Gen X, are going to cities because that's where the jobs are, and so that itself is ending up in less skiers -- just less people in rural areas of the country with ski mountains.