A Trail by Any Other Name . . .?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
15 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

A Trail by Any Other Name . . .?

Petronio
What trail sticks out in your memory as above or below its true grade?  For example, when first skiing Belleayre with the girls, I noticed that Roaring Brook, though marked as a blue, really could be a green in terms of skill level (beyond absolute beginner).

Particularly curious what folks think about Gore trails -- for example, I haven't skied it yet (planning to as soon as I can), but on YouTube videos Sagamore looks like a challenging blue, not a black (video can lie, of course).  And of course some parts of a trail can be more challenging than its overall marked grade indicates.

Petronio
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: A Trail by Any Other Name . . .?

snoloco
This post was updated on .
Here are my examples:

Gore:
Sagamore:  Marked as black, should be blue.  Probably marked black because it used to be natural snow only and bumped up.
Pipeline:  Marked as blue, should be green.  A blue trail should NOT be one where you have to push with your poles to ski.
Pine Knot:  Marked as blue, should be black.  Icy, windswept, narrow, overcrowded, too steep for blue rating, double fall line.  I find it harder to ski than some blacks at places further south.
Sunway:  Marked as green, should be blue.  It skis way more like Wraparound at Windham or Belt Parkway at Hunter than any green I have been on and I don't think any beginner should try and learn on it.  Just mark it as blue and list it as "easiest way down".

Whiteface:
Paron's Run:  Marked as blue, should be black.  I find it harder than most trails at Hunter.  It really should be rated as a black to keep marginal skiers who shouldn't be there off the summit.
Victoria:  Marked as blue, should be black.  It is about the pitch of Eisenhower Drive at Hunter which I think is accurately rated black.