Bear in CNY

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
37 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Bear in CNY

Brownski
We wandered into something I have some experience with. I spent two summers taking people on horseback rides in Alaska in the 90s. I wouldn't present myself as a bear expert but I educated myself and talked to the park service bear guys as well as a bunch of hunting guides and locals. Of course I spent plenty of time contemplating what to do if I encountered a bear on the job and had to answer questions from customers about it almost every day. All the advice about looking big, making noise etc is good but you don't want to do anything that a bear might find threatening. The way you tell if it's a predatory attack unfortunately is that when you play dead, it starts to feed on you. I remember the park service guidelines on what to do if a bear started feeding on you was to "fight back vigorously". That phrase always cracked me up. A lot of the park service people did a lot of preaching about how bad bear-human interactions were always the human's fault. The point the Alaskan locals made, and I tend to agree, is that any animal as intelligent as a bear has a personality, just like a person. You never know if the bear in front of you is smart enough to act in its own best interest or if you bumped into the neighborhood dickhead. The truest thing you can say about bears is that they're unpredictable. That being said, I never saw the front end of a bear. The ones I saw always ran away.
"You want your skis? Go get 'em!" -W. Miller
Reply | Threaded
|

Sick Bird Rider
Brownski wrote