Best car top carrier for XC skis?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Best car top carrier for XC skis?

greif
I got a nice new 2014 Forester a couple months ago, and now see I am going to need a cargo box if I intend to carry both people and a lot of skis. I am brand new to the cargo box and would appreciate any comments on experiences and advice! Looks like major contenders are Skybox and Thule. I may need a longer carrier than some since XC skis are longer.

What gotchas do I need to watch out for?
Any really thin ones that might still let my car fit in the garage with box attached?
Thanks,
gr
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Best car top carrier for XC skis?

TomCat
I think there was a thread on this a while ago.

My only comment is to consider a ski rack. The good ones are easy to get on and off. Having watched people in the parking lot, I think the rack is easier to load and unload as well. The box is pretty much on for the whole winter and while it's there it puts a decent dent in your fuel economy.

tom
Reply | Threaded
|

Telemark Dave
In reply to this post by greif
Both Yakima and Thule make low profile easy on/off boxes.  I use a Thule  on my Hyudai accent.  It takes a couple minutes to take it off or put it on... Which I do every w-end since I use the car for a 70 mile each way daily commute during the week.

A box is a great investment, as it protects your skis from the elements and more importantly, all the salt and sand that is on the road in the winter.  I'm amazed/baffled by the number of people who invest a ton of money in ski equipment - alpine or Nordic, and then stick it in roof carriers.  Not only will the salt corrode binding components, it damages the bases and edges.