Fracking

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
14 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Fracking

Marcski
http://news.yahoo.com/unusual-dallas-earthquakes-linked-fracking-expert-says-181055288.html

Yeah, a great idea to bring it here to NYS.  I mean, does it really take a geologist to say that it may (or will) cause damage to the environment and drinking water??
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Fracking

MC2 5678F589
I am a geologist, and the jury is out on the earthquake thing . . . Some people say that the fluid "greases the wheels" for smaller, less damaging earthquakes, and may actually prevent large, destructive earthquakes later.

That being said, I'm personally against it for a lot of other reasons (notably the secrecy involved with fracking fluid, which, for some reason, is classified as proprietary and never has to be disclosed to anyone ever - like the Coca Cola secret recipe).
Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
It's hard to know what to think. I don't think the energy companies have a clue if it's dangerous or not.  As you'd expect they have dollar signs in their eyes.

One thing is for sure, it's driving the cost of energy way down.  I know last winter was warm but my January heating bill was $375 in 2011 and $185 in 2012.  I think a lot of that was fracking.
"You just need to go at that shit wide open, hang on, and own it." —Camp
Reply | Threaded
|

riverc0il
In reply to this post by Marcski
Marcski wrote
I mean, does it really take a geologist to say that it may (or will) cause damage to the environment and drinking water??