How to tune your own skis

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
13 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

How to tune your own skis

TheGreatAbyss
So now that I actually have a house with a basement I've been thinking about doing my own ski tuning.  I'd be a complete novice at this, so I figured I'll start on my old skis first.  

Are there any how-to guides that people recommend?  

How about equipment?  I see Swix sells this complete kit:  Swix Tuning Kit

A few videos have mentioned that you should set your sharpener to the edge angles that come from the manufacturer.  I can't seem to find this information for any of my skis.  Is there a way to determine this, or should I just go with whatever I want?
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: How to tune your own skis

Johnnyonthespot
Theres a book called "From Tip to Tail". Pretty easy to understand.
I don't rip, I bomb.
Reply | Threaded
|

Johnnyonthespot
In reply to this post by TheGreatAbyss
Reply | Threaded
|

PeeTex
I don’t use the manufacturer angles, I like a race tune: 0.5 base, 3 edge.

Order you ski tune stuff from artechski: https://www.artechski.com/?_vsrefdom=adwords&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIl-iz6dHo5gIVzeDICh0voA5FEAAYASAAEgJXR_D_BwE

Get a base file, an edge file, a side edge guide, a clamp for the file, a red diamond file, a side wall cutter, an iron and some wax and a scraper and a ski vise. That’s about the bare minimum. I bolted a 6” wide board to some studs in the basement to use as a tuning bench.

You can add more later. Have a good race shop set your angles the first time and then keep up with it yourself. Tune every day you ski.

Later you can add more files and guides, a ptex iron, etc.
Don't ski the trees, ski the spaces between the trees.
Reply | Threaded
|

Milo Maltbie
This post was updated on .