20 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Learning to Ski - kids and adult - NY or Poconos

DomB
This post was updated on .
Hello everyone,

I am somewhere between a type II and III skier, somewhat self-taught and somewhat professionally instructed.  I can link carved turns and go down black diamonds in normal (icy) Eastern conditions.  I also read a fair amount and have read LeMaster's "Ultimate Skiing" a few times - getting more out of the book each time.  I would like for my children to avoid my fate of picking up skiiing somewhat later in life (first time in college).  

---Anyway, my first question relates to kids' programs.  I have a three-year old son, and we live in Brooklyn (no, I am not a hipster).

What ski schools/programs do folks recommend for the 4-6 range? Why? Keep in mind that my family is lucky enough to have access to lodging in the Poconos (which I realize isn't the best terrain).

I don't think I'll take my son this season for two reasons - (1) we have an 8-week old and (2) he is one of those (awesome) super high energy kids, and I am not sure he will focus for any period of time (he is just turning three in 2 days).  

Also, to give you more info, I am willing to go to the Catskills areas (I've been to Belleayre, and it is a great hidden gem; the posts here make me want to go to Plattekill!).  But, my parents recently retired to the Poconos, so Shawnee or Camelback would be ideal for teaching our kids because we'd have a place to overnight.  (My parents are 20 min from Shawnee and 45 from C).  One concern I have about Shawnee is that it looks like there is only one green from the top -- that worked out for me because I largely had the blacks and blues to myself, but I could see a youngster struggling with all the self-taught kids crashing on the sole green from the top of the "mountain".