classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Mount Snow 2-13-20

NYSnowflake
This post was updated on .
Mount snow got 4 inches of fresh snow last night and it all fell on top of whatever grooming they did. There was no corduroy in sight this morning. I’m still learning how to ski and fresh snow/ungroomed trails, and today was a great day to practice that. It appears lots of other people at Mount Snow also don’t know too much about how to ski in fresh snow either. However, Instead of trying to practice making turns in that thick heavy fresh stuff, many of them just decided to point the tips downhill and let gravity do the work without bothering to try to do any of that tough turn-y nonsense. These are the jerks who will nearly clip you straightlining at Mach 5 as you make turns on a narrow trail like Hop. I caught up with this guy and called him out and told him that he scared the crap out of me and then he was skiing like a jerk. He admitted that he was a total d*$@ and then laughed about it and said “I’m sorry but really I was in total control”. Then he repeatedly admitted that he was skiing like a d*+%#. OK. Moving on. My skis Head Total Joys handled today’s thick variable snow just fine. However, my husband’s Atomic Redsters were quite a bit of work to ski today. He said he had to try to stick them together and treat them like a single platform for most of the day. Carving/racing skis are not great for fresh snow I guess. Eventually he’ll have to get a wider second pair of skis but for now he’s gotta run what he brung! 😉