NYSB fly fishing (ok, any kind of fishing) thread

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
12 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

NYSB fly fishing (ok, any kind of fishing) thread

lemmycaution
It's not technically a summer sport but it seems like there should be a place where fly fishing info and stoke could live on this blog. Fly fishing is a recent interest of mine, so I am no pro, but let's see where this goes (if anywhere). Personally, I will be doing most of my fishing in Columbia County / Berkshires / NE Cats (I think).

A handy NY DEC link with stocking info and public angling easement maps
http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/9924.html 

Nothing epic but this is from a couple years ago and not in NY, from the Black River close to Ascutney in VT. Nice wild rainbow. There is something special about that moment when you get a nice one. Whatcha got?

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: NYSB fly fishing (ok, any kind of fishing) thread

Harvey
Administrator
LOL lemmy summer really means only "not a snowsport."  Or something you do when you are not skiing. Or.

That is a nice looking fish.  I have probably caught fewer than 100 trout my life and only 4 or 5 beauties.  But it is a thrill.

Biggest ever was 17" a brookie, must have been 3 pounds. When I hooked up with it is was dusk and I was sure I'd hooked a log.  As I got it closer to the surface, she flashed that big belly.

I wanted to toss her back, but I was on an extended campout and my GF was like NO WAY.

We ate it all between 2 of us.
:)

Never fly fished.  The uglystick and spinners fit well into my style of bc travel.
"You just need to go at that shit wide open, hang on, and own it." —Camp
Reply | Threaded
|

skimore
CNY this year

Reply | Threaded
|

Condor
love fishing! picture from last year maybe? dont fly fish, mostly paddling around smaller ponds and lakes, seeing whats biting!

Reply | Threaded
|

JasonWx
Bass fishing is my game..
"Peace and Love"
Reply | Threaded
|

ADmiKe