classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
38 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New home in the Dacks!

EastCoastChris
Hey y'all...
Just wanted say hello as I am a new rider to the Dacks that just committed to Gore as my new home hill.

I grew up in Maine where Sugarloaf was my local hill - I love that mountain and it will always be dear to my heart. I majored in Sunday River in college. I moved to NYC graduating and rode Mt. Snow for a few years.

I took a few seasons off but found myself on the west coast (Tahoe) from Dec to April and rode like like crazy particularly at Kirkwood and Sugarbowl.

Upon coming back to NY, I decided I would commit to the NYS mountains sight unseen. Didnt grab the full pass but I got the Empire Card and some Awesome Packs for family. I rode Mt. Snow and Stratton on occasion because they were easy "big mountains" to get to from NYC but I was never really in love with either mountain.  

I got a a friend that does midweek personal day trips to Belleyare so that is what made me  start looking in NYS. But once I started reading up I started falling hard for Gore. Something about the place just calls to me. It just looks so right. Like everything I want in a local hill. I can't believe I defaulted to Southern VT all those seasons.

My brother lives in the capital region. I convinced him to join me and get back on the snow for the first time in maybe 15 years. So I will be watching the weather and I can be at his place in a couple hours if a storm is coming and we can wake up in the AM and make a game time decision on Gore or Whiteface based on on morning reports.  A perfect set up!