This post was updated on .
CONTENTS DELETED
The author has deleted this message.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: New to tele and need advice

MC2 5678F589
Seems to be a growing consensus here forming around fat, fishscaled backcountry skis. Voile makes some good ones. Rossignol has decent ones, too.

Then, you have to decide if you want duckbill or NTN. NTN is probably overkill for your purposes, so if I were you, I'd get some Scarpa T2's and pair them with a Voile switchback binding.

I might be teaching the Tele thing on February 1/2 (or I might not). I'll look for you on brand new gear if I am.
Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
That's some quality advice by MC.  

Don't use the fishscales for lift service, you will trash them quick.

Ideally IMO you'll need two pairs of boots and skis.

Although people certainly do routes like Raymond Brook on T2s and I've been skiing Gore on T2 for 5 years.
"You just need to go at that shit wide open, hang on, and own it." —Camp
Reply | Threaded
|

MC2 5678F589
Harvey wrote
Don't use the fishscales for lift service, you will trash them quick.

Ideally IMO you'll need two pairs of boots and skis.
I don't really agree with either of these points. From his description, it sounded like he mostly wanted an all purpose Tele setup to kick around on, learn Tele turns, and do some backcountry. I think a pair of Voile Vector BCs, a pair of T2s, and a pair of switchbacks would be fine.

I mean, in the Voile Vector BC description, it says:

From long backcountry tours to a day of cranking turns inbounds, the Vector is a truly unique package with it's mid-fat width, super light weight, and powder friendly hybrid rocker design.
I think older waxless skis had degradation issues, but I think the problem has been addressed with modern base materials. And, really, if the fishscales get "trashed", he can just throw some kick wax on and carry on as normal.