ORDA mountains with kids -- advice wanted

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
13 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

ORDA mountains with kids -- advice wanted

Petronio
Hi all -- this is a great ski blog that I've been lurking around for a while.  Kudos to Harvey and all the others who have made this a vibrant forum for NY skiers.

I'd like the advice of folks who have skied with kids at the ORDA mountains -- particularly with dealing with the off-mountain set up, arrival times, etc.  I've been bringing my three girls to Catamount for the past 4 years or so.  This year I purchased the Ski3 pass and have planned road trips to Whiteface (staying at Crowne Plaza between Xmas and New year's) and Gore (president's day weekend), and Belleayre will be the home mountain.  I am pretty pumped for Gore, especially.  Never been to any of them.

At Catamount, on all days except a few holidays we'd get there shortly after the lifts opened to little or no crowds.  The lodges were pretty informal, if somewhat grubby, affairs -- a lot of families brought their lunches, they have open cubbies to stash your stuff, folks are pretty accommodating in making room at a table when it gets crowded.  At times there is literally sh*t all over the floor in terms of bags, coolers etc.  The Catamount crowd is pretty exclusively families who (my sense is) want to avoid the Hunter/Windham/Vermont crowds, monied scene, rich teenagers, college kids, etc. and could accept the general shabbiness of Catamount.  We'd leave our skis outside on the racks and our bags in the cubbies generally without fear of theft.  Overall, it was an easy place to bring the girls and a positive experience.