25 messages Options
Z
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Raising a Ripper

Z
This post was updated on .
I have written several posts on how to start your kids skiing.  This time I decided to talk about something that I think about all the time: How to raise a young Ripper.  Besides raising my own son into a strong skier and developing racer I have 9 years of experience coaching a season long kids program.  There are dozens of kids that I coached who went on to become excellent racers, top freeride athletes, or became certified ski instructors themselves.  This is the thing that I am most proud of during my 25 years of ski teaching.  I decided to post this in the Woodstove since I think this is a topic that many Moms and Dads will want to discuss.

Big Air during The Ski Meister Race

FUN
First and foremost it’s got to be FUN for a kid to want to become a great skier.  If it’s not fun for them they won’t want to keep skiing enough to become experts.  Parents need to pay careful attention to keeping it fun.  Play games, hit the trees and the park, ski with other kids and families.  Take some trips to different ski areas and explore, new trails and experiences keep it fresh for everybody.  Read the kids to know when it’s time for a hot chocolate break or when to pull the plug on a nasty day.  Never underestimate the power of having some candy or a treat in your pocket when you hit a rough patch.  After skiing take some time to let them slide on trays or have snowball fights.

Tray Sliding

Commitment.