classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
29 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Roll Call

MikeK
Banned User
My name is Mike, yes that's my real name, and I'm a bleeding heart liberal engineer.  I joined this forum last year, found it disappointing in some ways, took a break, and now I'm back to give it another shot.

I'm not much into Alpine skiing anymore.  I skied in my teens, got bored, then came back to it after college, and got bored again, so I started getting back to the roots:  skiing in the woods away from lifts.  I mostly tour but I'm trying to work up my skills with the free heel.  It's a slow process.  I also got my wife into skiing too - she hated alpine but tolerates xc and is getting more interested in tele.

I've recently got back into mountain biking and it's been the most fun I've had in years.  I still love skiing, but I was at one time a bike nut and kind of drifted away from it, especially when riding offroad starting getting more illegal.  Now it's exploded again and I can barely control myself.  I've been riding everything I can find and visiting some of the stuff I used to ride before I conked out.  I've also got my wife into it, but she's less ecstatic about it than I am.  She'll ride some single track but she still does a fair deal of walking - I'm confident she'll get there, just like she did with skiing, but it takes time and patience.

Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
In reply to this post by 2000yearoldskier
Welcome 2000. Thanks for your support of the blog all these years, and your effort to reach out to me this past week. Really appreciated.

Odds of me getting out west this year are slim, but if you come to NY, let's ski for sure.
"You just need to go at that shit wide open, hang on, and own it." —Camp
Reply | Threaded
|

JTG4eva!
My name is Chris, and I'm a NYSkiBlog....er!

I used to go by Skidds.  No, not a woman with big.....No, not a dentist, either.