Tax Question

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
19 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Tax Question

lolkl
Can I declare my ski pass as a business expense and make it tax deductable? I am an Independent Contractor and I need to meet clients as well as look at jobs all over the mountain. Living at a ski resort is unique in this respect. When I think of Big Shots taking clients out to lavish dinners and writing it off it seems like I should be able to write this off. People write off trips all the time.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Tax Question

Harvey
Administrator
I am not an accountant. So I have no idea, but of course I do have an opinion. :)

I'd think yes.  But you might have to treat it like a car or home office? x% of my usage is for business, so you deduct that portion of the cost.

Or you could try to make sure you are not having any fun when you ski without clients and call it "sales training."
"You just need to go at that shit wide open, hang on, and own it." —Camp
Reply | Threaded
|

tjf1967
You can write off whatever you want, its what will pass an audit.  You can write percentages of your pass, skis and other stuff in proportion to business vs personal use.  At least that is my understanding.  
Reply | Threaded
|

Spongeworthy
In reply to this post by lolkl
Short answer: No.

You can't deduct country club dues and membership fees, even if you incur other business-related expenses at the club that are at least partially deductible. As I see it, the cost of your OWN season pass at a ski resort is in the same category as country club dues.
"They don't think it be like it is, but it do." Oscar Gamble
Z
Reply | Threaded
|

Z
If you took a customer skiing and bought your and their day pass that would be deductible same as a day of golf or other business entertainment
if You French Fry when you should Pizza you are going to have a bad time
Reply | Threaded
|

ScottyJack