Your first job

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
43 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Your first job

campgottagopee
What was your first "real" summer job while in HS.

I washed rocks for a mason ---- 20 bucks / week
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Your first job

Brownski
I stocked shelves at a Fay’s Drugs part time in high school. Before that I mowed lawns here and there and filled in when my brother couldn’t do his paper route. After I turned 18, I was a McDonalds cook and did a summer as an overnight “maintenance man”- basically a full time mopper, then an usher at Hoyt’s Movie theater in Crossgates Mall, then worked at a couple Subways around the Albany area (first time I was trusted with the keys to a business) and then as a security guard for one summer.
"You want your skis? Go get 'em!" -W. Miller
Reply | Threaded
|

MC2 5678F589
In reply to this post by campgottagopee
Wendy's: $5.25 an hour

Then the Saratoga Race Track, 6 days a week,  for $39 a day + tips.
Reply | Threaded
|

marznc
In reply to this post by campgottagopee
My mother found the job for me.  We'd just moved to North Carolina before my junior year.  I got to muck horse stalls in exchange for ring riding for an hour or so.  I had experience, but it was a lot hotter in the summer down south than in upstate NY where I was around horses at camp or school (different places).  It was just as well that school started around the third week of August.
Reply | Threaded
|

witch hobble
In reply to this post by MC2 5678F589
Dishwasher at terrible burger/fry/milkshake restaurant. Also some lawn mowing and caddied a bit.
Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
I did some lawn mowing, but I consider my first "summer job" a job I had in a bank.  I sat in a small cramped room with no windows and tons of mortgages doing some repetitive mind-numbing task I can't even remember. I hated it.