8 messages Options
frk
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

jay peak 2-23/24

frk
This post was updated on .
just spent the weekend at jay after 30 inch dump on thursday. sorry, no pics, too busy skiing and driving. but i have a few observations. i've been skiing jay for about 10 years, especially prez's week when my boys were younger. i've never seen the mountain so crowded. it was already skied out by saturday and remember, the lifts were on wind hold thru th. i guestimate about 75% canadian on sat. this is quite a change from 10 yrs ago when about 20% of crowd appeared to be border crossers.

i think this shows the tremendous marketing to the montreal market. also, rode the lifts with quite a few newbies from far reaching places like mid atlantic states who had heard the hype about jay. and the parking lots for skiers doing the Dip or Big Jay looked like a commuter lot. back-country sking was never so crowded. the new base village was rocking.

but, this new found crowd is too large for jay IMHO. It doesn't have the acreage to accommodate so many skiers. unlike western areas who routinely have 1000+ front-side acres, jay is much smaller. the end result is huntah like slopes and skied out glades. i hate to open a wound about snowboarders but, there has been an increase in boarders. in fact, jay is promoting boarders thru a new burton program. jay, like MRG, has lots of narrow, sinewy,rocky terrain which requires a lot of snow to cover. a boarder can easily wipe the goods from this terrain making it almost unskiable. if you look at the drop-ins off alligator alley, you'll see scraped entrances and then nascar style banked turns all from boards. i saw plenty of boarders scraping away sensitive and favorite areas. intermediate skiers are more intimidated by these steep entrances and don't attempt to enter and scrape. we've all seen novice boarders scrape down rumor.