Camera: What is everyone using to take shots on the mountain?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
24 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Camera: What is everyone using to take shots on the mountain?

Snowhunter
I'm curious as to what people are using to take their pics on the mountain (and during other outdoor activities).  

I currently switch between a pair of DSLRs (Sony A700 & A350).  Both are capable of some amazing pics and I'm an avid photographer but they're really not getting the job done for me while out on the slopes.  I'm very comfortable with them and usually have at least one with me almost wherever I go but they are very large and heavy and when I'm on the mountain I'm basically using them as point and shoot cameras once I finally wrestle them out of my bag whenever I want a shot.  When I'm focused on photography I don't mind the inconvenience but most of the time skiing is my primary objective but I want a camera available to me if an interesting shot presents itself and/or just to record little memories of my day.

I've been looking around for awhile but I can't seem to find anything that fully fits my needs.  I want compact, but not too small as I have large hands and find many of these mini cameras awkward to use.  I usually use a 24-200mm (36-300mm full frame equivalent) lens so I don't have to change lenses on the slopes and so I'd like something with a similar range (I actually want wider but don't want to give up length).  I'd like as large an aperture as possible and I'd like at least some manual adjustment available to me.