21 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Killington Blog: A New Vision for 2012-13

Harvey
Administrator
This post was updated on .
Not exactly new news (posted on 10/4), but I just saw this blog post by Mike Solimano of Powdr. This seems like pretty frank communication that I find to be refreshing.  I'm making an assumption that K won't mind that I posted this in it's entirety as it is something like a press release.

Looking Forward, a new vision for the 2012-13 winter season

I am truly excited to take on my new role and responsibilities at Killington Resort and Pico Mountain as President and General Manager. In an effort to improve communication with all Killington/Pico stakeholders, I wanted to share my vision through a blog and continue to write blog posts regarding the resort’s progress on that vision.  

While I am new to this position, I have been with the company for 12 years and my executive team has an average of 21 years of ski resort experience. All but one of my team members has over 15 years’ experience at Killington and Pico; we know the resorts well and understand what makes them so great.  

Powdr Corp., based in Park City, Utah, is Killington and Pico’s parent company, as well as a holding company of mountain resort and action sports companies. Powdr is a privately held, family owned business with a decentralized approach to resort management. Simply put, decisions on how to run the resort are left to the local management team and Powdr’s main influence relates to capital allocation. Therefore, I take full responsibility for any decisions made moving forward at our resorts. One of my goals is to balance the variety of priorities that are important to our guests’ experience on and off the mountain. Although it’s tough to please everyone, I hope that explaining the business reason behind the choices we make will help our guests understand our strategy and thought process.