classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
102 messages Options
1234 ... 6
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

My Solution to I70 Traffic Problems

snoloco
Type in I70 on google and the first thing that comes up is "I70 Traffic Jam".  Many small measures have been taken to reduce the delays, but the number of people traveling on that corridor is still growing, and has or will outgrow the improvements that have already been done.  There are even some horror stories that Denver locals have given up skiing because they just could not avoid the gridlock.

As an aspiring engineer, I devised a plan to eradicate I70 traffic for good, and still increase travel to and from the mountains.  My solution is the construction of The Colorado Ski Train.  There used to be such a train that went to Winter Park, and you can still do the same trip on Amtrak's California Zephyr route.  However, the service was discontinued in 2009.  While many people liked it, the trip took over 2 hours and only ran once a day, so many people didn't ride it as it was not convenient or practical.  

I have mapped out a new and improved railroad system that serves 15 ski areas that are relatively close to I70, and cause a lot of traffic on it.  Station list is below.

Denver Int'l Airport
Denver Union Station
I70 Park and Ride
(via express)
Echo Mountain Park (limited service)
Keystone (only Vail/Beaver Creek bound trains)
(via local)
Eldora
Winter Park
Loveland
A Basin
(all trains)
Silverthorne
Frisco
(via Aspen Branch)
Breckenridge
Ski Cooper
Aspen (serves 4 ski areas)
(via Vail Branch)
Copper
Vail
Beaver Creek