My skiing is in the crapper

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
47 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

My skiing is in the crapper

JasonWx
Hey all you instructors out there..I need help..My skiing has gone to shit..
I need to change my old ways .. by the way these were taken yesterday at Platt

"Peace and Love"
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: My skiing is in the crapper

skimore
are u on a mono board
Reply | Threaded
|

JasonWx
Hey I'm looking for Help not some wise ass remark!!
"Peace and Love"
Reply | Threaded
|

skimore
that was the help

You got your legs squeezed tighter together than the chick you took to prom
Reply | Threaded
|

gebbyfish
I'm no expert, but that lean is so far over and off of the skis, I wonder how you keep an edge.  
Reply | Threaded
|

ml242
Move to Roxbury. Nothing an extra 30 days on the hill wouldn't fix (true for us all)
Z
Reply | Threaded
|

Z
Jason

you have a stance issue.  Your feet should be under your hips.  Try imagining skiing with a basketball between your legs for a few hours

hands need to be in front and to the side
Try keeping your hands out side your elbows and in your pheriphal vision

Also look a bit aft in balance so keep some ankle flex and shin pressure on you boot cuffs
if You French Fry when you should Pizza you are going to have a bad time
Reply | Threaded
|

MC2 5678F589
In reply to this post by JasonWx
Is that really you? Because yeah, skimore is right. Your legs are too close together and it's not allowing you to use the skis as they were designed.

Just as a little experiment, stick you skis together like that, tilt onto your edges, and figure out the highest edge angle you can achieve. Then separate your skis, and do the same thing. Notice anything.