|

Shandaken to NY state: Use 1,200 acres to expand Belleayre

skunkape
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Shandaken to NY state: Use 1,200 acres to expand Belleayre

Goreskimom
I am going to sound like a greedy child here, but the truth hurts...if the state expands Belleayre, it will take up resources for improvements at Gore/WF.  The past 5 years or do have been awesome in terms of new terrain and lifts.  Hate to see it end.
Reply | Threaded
|

ausable skier
In reply to this post by skunkape
this being the catskills the town board must be smoking wacky weed if they think that now that they are part of Orda Bell is going to expand by 1200 acres - 1200 acres is more skable terrian than WF.

I'll say it again Bell is losing money at a epic rate so until it can prove it can be profitable there is no way it should be expanded.  
A true measure of a person's intelligence is how much they agree with you.
Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
I'm not an expert on Bell's infrastructure, but I'd think they need lift replacements before terrain expansion.

skunkape ... any idea where exactly is the terrain?

Belleayre Ski Trails.

I don't understand Whiteface and Gore skiers not wanting Belleayre to get anything.  If (?) the argument is that state money is well spent in Wilmington and North Creek and produces positive revenue, then shouldn't the same thinking apply to Pine Hill?  If you don't invest in Bell, then eventually you'll have to shut it down.
"You just need to go at that shit wide open, hang on, and own it." —Camp
Reply | Threaded
|

ausable skier
I'm an open book on this issue - Bell will be a drain on Orda which will negatively impact the flagships of Gore and WF.  I'd much rather see Bell made into a Nordic ski area (sans lifts) then have WF or Gore running less lifts or making less snow.