Ski Wax

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
31 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Ski Wax

Spongeworthy
I've been tuning my skis for 12+ years and have been using Swix universal hydrocarbon wax for the last 3 years.

No complaints, but does anyone have a recommendation for something that might be better?
"They don't think it be like it is, but it do." Oscar Gamble
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Ski Wax

PeeTex
Dominator Zoom
Don't ski the trees, ski the spaces between the trees.
Reply | Threaded
|

Sick Bird Rider
In reply to this post by Spongeworthy
A special blend of leftovers from 40 years of waxing skis.
Love Jay Peak? Hate Jay Peak? You might enjoy this: The Real Jay Peak Snow Report
Reply | Threaded
|

BigK75
I personally buy my wax from racewax.com which I have found to have great prices.  I find the wax good until the temperatures get below -20 celcius and then all bets are off :)
Reply | Threaded
|

gorgonzola
+1 for racewax.com
Reply | Threaded
|

Telemark Dave
Similar to SBR.  Oh, and shouldn't Ski Wax be taken out of the "woodstove" and moved to "gear"?  It's going to melt regardless of the brand...

TD
"there is great chaos under heaven, and the situation is excellent" Disclaimer: Telemark Dave is a Hinterlandian. He is not from New York State, and in fact, doesn't even ski there very often. He is also obsessive-compulsive about Voile Charger BC's.
Reply | Threaded
|

Marcski
I have been using this for quite a few years now.  I find it does a great job for a universal wax in a variety of conditions. If its super cold, I can add some powders.

Reply | Threaded
|

Spongeworthy
I've switched to Hertel Super Hot Sauce. Seems good in all temps. I hate scraping, so the best thing for me is how easy it is to scrape or brush off. This is a very user-friendly wax.

Harv, please move this if apropos.
Reply | Threaded
|

greif
I find Swix LF waxes noticeably better than the plain hydrocarbon wax.
Reply | Threaded
|

adkskier