1 ... 4567
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Winter 2016/2017 Plans?

Harvey
Administrator
raisingarizona wrote
I have zero knowledge on the area or the events leading up to the expansion to Snowbowl but I imagine that there are lots of other factors that were part of the process that are being overlooked.
Basically the state came to ORDA and said "here's $10 million for a HSQ, and a fixed grip to be used to connect North Creek to Gore Mountain."  There was really no leeway about how the money would be spent. It was a political move by (surprise) politicians looking to score economic development points.

It's not like Gore is building glades INSTEAD of buying snow guns. That stuff is done with employee labor which doesn't require any additional funding.  The kind of money for those two lifts comes along once every 10 or 20 years, and it's my position that you take it when offered.

Think about it from Mike Pratt's point of view. His life would be WAY easier if that $10M was spent on snowmaking.  Far less whining about this and that to have a smaller mountain that could be fully covered in 10 days. Think Hunter.

Sno believes that the money should have been refused because the project couldn't be done all at once. To me that is nuts.
"You just need to go at that shit wide open, hang on, and own it." —Camp
Reply | Threaded
|

snoloco
Where did the money to build the Hudson trail come from and why couldn't it have been used on a proper connection trail from Burnt Ridge?  It's my opinion that if you're offered money to do mountain improvements, you spend it on the things that are most beneficial.  Building that connection is very valuable, Hudson trail, not so much.
I've lived in New York my entire life.
Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
Hudson Trail was a (former) existing trail.  All that was required was a chain saw. Don't know it for a fact, but I'm guessing it was done with employees.