uphill gear

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
24 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

uphill gear

Grillman
I have purchased boots and marker bindings.  I am looking for recommendations for skis to skin up with.   I will primarily be skinning up Whiteface, but in years to come, I hope to do more.

Thanks in advance.

Think snow.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: uphill gear

JTG4eva!
I'm a relative BC novice, and a touring expert I am not and will never be.  That said....I think that what you intend when you reach the top has to have some bearing on the ski you put your AT bindings on.  Is the up the goal, with the down being a pleasant byproduct, or is the up just a way to achieve the down?

I put my Barons on a pair of Nordica El Capo, a burly all mountain charger at 107mm under foot.  Why?  Well, my touring goals were to get to the top of 45+ degree chutes in the BC so I could stomp them (or at least try to) on the way down.  The up was never my goal (although I've found I really enjoy it), but challenging myself on the way down was.  So I went with a ski that could handle whatever I was brave enough to throw at it.  It's certainly not a light, efficient ski for the uphill, but I could live with that given the capability the El Capos provided me for the downhill skiing payoff.  A classic touring setup it is not, but it's served me well in Tuckerman's and in the Pacific NW BC.   That's me charging WA BC powder on my setup in my avatar.  The setup rocks for my purposes. If we ever get snow again in NY I plan on bagging some ADK slides.

On the other hand, if your primary enjoyment of the touring setup will be the work/solitude/peace on the way up, and you aren't looking to rip on the way down, a lighter, somewhat narrower ski might be the way to go.

So, what are your goals?
We REALLY need a proper roll eyes emoji!!
Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
I was going to say the same thing.