classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
285 messages Options
12345 ... 15
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: $20M for Whiteface and Gore

ADmiKe
I'm ok with pretty much everything except the mountain coaster.  I have been returning to Whiteface for 27 years, my parents 45+ and my family has made it their home away from home because we figured they would never do shit like put in a frikin mountain coaster, water park, etc or any other un-natural looking garbage because of the strict APA rules etc.  I hope Coach is right.

I may be from the dirty jerz, but I'm fine saying that we don't need a bunch of NJ/city ppl in our way who drove 5 hours to ride a f**king mountain coaster.  Can see it now...Lower parking lot full, mountain coaster, zipline, and "high end amenities" parking only.  Skiers please park in upper lot and take shuttle!!!
Skiing is not a sport, it is a way of life.
Z
Reply | Threaded
|

Z
In reply to this post by snoloco
Snow it would come out of there on an angle up what was silver shoot (I have no idea what small animal that trail  is now called) and then would have to run up Boreen. To get the angle right it would need to start on the far side of the magic carpet
if You French Fry when you should Pizza you are going to have a bad time
Reply | Threaded
|

Hoser
In reply to this post by ADmiKe
Agree. Send the coaster to Syracuse with the new gondi
Reply | Threaded
|

snoloco
In reply to this post by JTG4eva!
All the trails in the valley are already overcrowded.  Putting another lift there that can only access Boreen will make it even worse.

Also, routing it up and over the Wilmington Trail will be really expensive.

I'd do what Stowe did and have a fixed grip quad with a loading carpet go up the existing route, but extend higher up to get a better connection onto Boreen.