Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Hickory Alpine Club

Adk Jeff
This post was updated on .
billyymc wrote
Adk Jeff wrote
Coach and Camp, membership details are on the club's website, which is linked in the interview as well as in Harv's blog post, but essentially it's a $1,000 initiation fee (that's for a family, singles are $500) plus $525 annual dues ($375 single).  The primary benefits of membership are access to the club's clubhouse (planned for Dec 2016) and discounted passes/lift tickets to Hickory.
So I can either:

1) Go to Hickory and pay the cost of day pass, ski, take off my boots in the parking lot, and go home or

2) Go to  Hickory and pay the cost of a day pass less a few $, plus $1,000, plus $525 per year, ski, take off my boots in the club building, and go home.

It is a tough decision, but since I graduated from high school, and do work involving difficult maths and numericals, I'm going with option 1.
Frankly, I come to the same conclusion, although the intangible value of supporting Hickory clouds the equation.

Clarification on Option 1 above:  You don't have to boot up in the parking lot.  The existing lodge will still be available to all.  You just won't have access to the Clubhouse.

Harvey wrote
Maybe put a plumbing loop that goes up Top Notch/Hare and down Ridge Run.
I'd love to see more information on the snowmaking that is proposed, i.e. which trails, how many guns, what type of guns, how much capacity will the system have (acre/feet per day or whatever), what will the installed system cost, how much will it cost to operate, etc.

x10003q wrote
They have a huge dilemma  - they need to get people to pony up money hoping that they get some snowmaking installed. The risk is the snowmaking never happens.
I beleive if they don't get enough members during the initial subscription period, they won't move forward and everyone gets their money back, so I don't believe there's any risk there.

x10003q wrote