Sandy and Irene - cyclic ocean temps or global warming?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
44 messages Options
Z
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Sandy and Irene - cyclic ocean temps or global warming?

Z
I'm not a weather pro like many others that post on NYSB and I saw this interesting discussion last night about the cause for Sandy and Irene.

I've heard that Joe Bastardi is a very well respected forecaster particularly for winter and tropcial storms.  His point is that the cause is a cyclic change in ocean temps with a very warm Atlantic and a very Cool Pacific Ocean.  We are revisting this that last happened in the 1950's which also had storms hitting the NE coast.

What do you all think about this?

http://www.mrctv.org/videos/joe-bastardi-destroys-al-gores-recent-comments-about-super-storm-sandy

Let's not make this a political discussion.  I find weather very interesting and I'm trying to learn.
if You French Fry when you should Pizza you are going to have a bad time
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Sandy and Irene - cyclic ocean temps or global warming?

ScottyJack
Climate has def changed.  Humans have def impacted this change.  It will continue until a massive natural disaster eliminates 80% of the population.  

I'm fairly confident Adirondackers will survive and think it will be quite interesting moving forward!  

I have serious hunting, gathering and gardening skills!  
I ride with Crazy Horse!
Reply | Threaded
|

ScottyJack
As well as fishing and fire building skills.  
I ride with Crazy Horse!
Reply | Threaded
|

campgottagopee
As well as bullshit skills
Reply | Threaded
|

ScottyJack
well that cuts it!  You are offically not welcome in my tribe!  When the time comes, you cross the blueline at your own peril!!  

I ride with Crazy Horse!
Reply | Threaded
|

campgottagopee
Wouldn't have it any other way

fooz is gonna get sick nasty this year
Reply | Threaded
|

Noah John
In reply to this post by Z