What is an "Expert"...

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
119 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: What is an "Expert"...

Adk Jeff
Hi, my name is Jeff and I am not an expert skier.
I consider myself competent or perhaps even advanced,  but I spend plenty of time every day I ski washing out my turns, getting thrown off balance, or just being lazy and letting the terrain push me around so I look like a dork.
But I don't let my lack of expertness stop me from enjoying and pursuing expert terrain, and every once in a while I dance down something gnarly and even make it look good.
Never had a lesson or was coached, the only way I learned was by skiing with better skiers (of which there have always been plenty).  Can you be an "expert" without formal instruction?  I'm thinking no.  Since I never learned "technique," I can't teach my kids proper technique either.  That doesn't stop us from having fun.  I am, however, happy to provide frequent pointers to my wife about how she can improve her technique.
Competent, comfortable, safe... Yes.  Avid... For sure.  Expert... No.
Reply | Threaded
|

JTG4eva!
This post was updated on .
In reply to this post by louie.mirags
Defining an "expert" skier is as difficult as defining what a "fat" ski is today.  They mean something different to everybody.  It's more of an opinion, as evidenced by the various replies so far, than an absolute.  You know what they say, opinions are like a$$holes, everybody's got one.

Humility is a word I'll throw out. What does that have to do with being an "expert"?  Nothing, but it is a good character trait for all people, "expert" skiers included.  The earlier one learns that in life the better.  Just sayin'.