1234 ... 6
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

What is an "Expert"...

sudsnbumps
?
Proud to call Gore My Home Mountain
Covid stole what would have been my longest season ever!
I'll be back
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: What is an "Expert"...

Harvey
Administrator
This post was updated on .
It's not what you ski it's how you ski it. My two dollars:

http://nyskiblog.com/what-is-an-expert-skier/
"You just need to go at that shit wide open, hang on, and own it." —Camp
Reply | Threaded
|

snoloco
I say that an expert is someone who can ski all types of terrain in many different conditions either all equally well, or is super advanced in oen type of skiing, but can still do the others relatively well.

I've been skiing for 12 years and I consider myself an expert skier by eastern standards.  By western standards, I'm an advanced skier, but by no means an expert.  

I mostly rip groomers at high speeds, but given the chance, I ski other types of terrain as well.  If there's trees or bumps available and in good condition, I'm going to ski them.  I don't necessarily agree with the part that you have to ski all types of terrain perfectly.  The race kids are on groomers the entire time, and some are really good at what they do, but I'm sure they don't get on bumps or trees much.  Would we say that Bode Miller isn't an expert skier because he races and likely not much other skiing.  If you're very good at one type of skiing and moderately good at others, you're still an expert.

I like to ski a variety of terrain and not specialize too much on one type.  Problem is that varied types of terrain aren't always available to me.  I've skied Gore's trees more than anyone else's and like them a lot.  Problem is that they aren't always in play when I'm there.  Hunter is too damn rockey to have glades and Mountain Creek is too far south to get enough snow, although I do ski the MTB trails and lift routes when there's a lot of natural snow.