772 messages Options
1234 ... 39
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Whiteface Conditions (2016 - 2017)

snoloco
This post was updated on .
Looks like some cold nights (low 20's) coming this weekend.  Could there possibly be snowmaking, or maybe a test?

My guess is that they'll do a test but not actually make snow to open.  It's supposed to warm up a after that, although the Accuweather long range forecast shows a cool down around the 10th of November.

It's my first year as a Whiteface regular, so I'll get to know a lot of things about the place that I didn't know earlier.  Hunter was usually very conservative in when they started snowmaking, but once they had a good window they'd go all out.  I believe the ORDA mountains are a bit more aggressive in early season marginal temps, but obviously don't have as much firepower as Hunter.  Sometimes that helps them (like Belleayre opening well before Hunter and Windham last year), but other times it would probably hurt them in the form of all their snowmaking money washing right back down into the river.
I've lived in New York my entire life.
Z
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Whiteface Conditions

Z
Just remember Sno that it takes a lot of snow to cover 2500 Vert from LWF to the base
That is 3 separate runs at small areas
Keep unrealistic expectations in check
if You French Fry when you should Pizza you are going to have a bad time
Reply | Threaded
|

Snowballs
Banned User
Yea Sno, think Black Friday. While millions will be out shopping you'll be sliding down WF.
Reply | Threaded
|

ScottyJack
pray for rain!
I ride with Crazy Horse!
Reply | Threaded
|

K man
Yeh, we need rain before they can make snow!!!!  Rivers are real low.
Avitar=Left Gully, Tuckerman Ravine
No Fat Chicks, Just Fat Skis
Reply | Threaded
|

ScottyJack
In reply to this post by snoloco
snoloco wrote
Looks like some cold nights (low 20's) coming this weekend.  Could there possibly be snowmaking, or maybe a test?