581 messages Options
1 ... 10111213141516 ... 30
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: COVID 19 impact on skiing

PeeTex
marznc wrote
So far, the candidates are still waiting for approval for human Phase I safety trials or still in the pre-clinical phase.  Even with fast track approvals at every step, a vaccine for public use is unlikely to be available before the end of 2020.  Most common time estimates are 12-18 months.

Note that there still isn't a SARS vaccine.  But there also hasn't been a documented case of SARS for quite a while.

(Yes, I know something about clinical trials because I worked in the pharma industry on clinical trials research teams for 15 years.)
I don’t doubt you know the normal routine but they have already decided to skip animal testing and have jumped right to human testing. I believe Moderna is starting it now: https://www.statnews.com/2020/03/11/researchers-rush-to-start-moderna-coronavirus-vaccine-trial-without-usual-animal-testing/
Don't ski the trees, ski the spaces between the trees.
Reply | Threaded
|

campgottagopee
In reply to this post by MC2 5678F589
MC2 5678F589 wrote
Harvey wrote

I'll have some time later this afternoon to read it all, and I'll do one of three things:

• Leave it alone

• Move it to the OT and remove posting privileges from some people in the OT.

• Lock it.

Help me out here, let's show some respect for each other.
4. Restart PolitiCrap and dump it there.

Not sure how we can talk about big issues (disease response, stock market) without mentioning the politicians that are making world changing decisions (or displaying world class dumbassery). In an election year? In this economy?
I'm sure we can. Maybe you and a few others can't but the majority of us can.
Reply | Threaded
|

raisingarizona
campgottagopee wrote
MC2 5678F589 wrote
Harvey wrote

I'll have some time later this afternoon to read it all, and I'll do one of three things:

• Leave it alone

• Lock it.