Everything's a travesty with you, man!
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Whiteface Conditions

PeeTex
In reply to this post by snoloco
snoloco wrote
Figured that as an engineering student I had better do the math on WF's snowmaking instead of speculating and whining.  They're permitted to draw up to 6000 gpm.  If they're running max water, that's 54 acre feet/day.  Earlier I read that they only do 30 acre feet/day, so they don't run at max water ever.  That means air is the limiting factor.  If air capacity is increased, they can run more guns and open quicker.
Pretty piss poor engineering. Just because they can draw water doesn't mean they can pump it up the hill.
Don't ski the trees, ski the spaces between the trees.
Reply | Threaded
|

PeeTex
In reply to this post by ml242
ml242 wrote
I know PeeTex is good with a white Russian.
Must be getting a little butt hurt to try to drag the arguments over here.
Don't ski the trees, ski the spaces between the trees.
Reply | Threaded
|

Brownski
In reply to this post by PeeTex
PeeTex wrote
snoloco wrote
Figured that as an engineering student I had better do the math on WF's snowmaking instead of speculating and whining.  They're permitted to draw up to 6000 gpm.  If they're running max water, that's 54 acre feet/day.  Earlier I read that they only do 30 acre feet/day, so they don't run at max water ever.  That means air is the limiting factor.  If air capacity is increased, they can run more guns and open quicker.
Pretty piss poor engineering. Just because they can draw water doesn't mean they can pump it up the hill.
Good point.
Sno, you also can't just say they don't have the air capacity to utilize all the water they're allowed to use. The air/water ratio changes a great deal based on temps. At really cold temps they might have "too much" air.
"You want your skis? Go get 'em!" -W. Miller
Reply | Threaded
|

raisingarizona
ml242 wrote