1 ... 15161718192021 ... 63
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Coronavirus

MC2 5678F589
This post was updated on .
Harvey wrote

She said she would think about whether she wanted to be laid off or not.
I'm no employment lawyer, but I'm not sure I'd write this stuff on the internet.

Edit: Smart move deleting. You never know what her lawyer might find.
Reply | Threaded
|

Brownski
Hang in there Harv
"You want your skis? Go get 'em!" -W. Miller
Reply | Threaded
|

wonderpony
I am so sorry, Harvey.  That must suck on an unimaginable level.

WP
Reply | Threaded
|

campgottagopee
In reply to this post by Harvey
Sucks man
Reply | Threaded
|

Gunny J
In reply to this post by MC2 5678F589
   This layoff stuff is nothing new if you work in the trades. Never had paid sick leave,  paid vacation  ,, in our union  you have to work to earn vacation pay, insurance and pension credits. When you work money needs to be set aside for slow times. I think Americans will learn this during these hard times.
 The stimulus packadge will not help my family at all. They are reverting back to 2018 , I earned too much. In 2019 I was only employed for 5 months ,due to my two surgeries.  Pay was 40 percent of the year before. 2020 has not be kind either, have only  worked  for a total of 5 paychecks. Thirty years of these up and downs , wife and I have weathered all of this.
   My best advise stay up on your mortgage and taxes , keep money for food and let the rest slide.
Want to spend special time with your children, teach them to ski or snowboard. The reward will be endless!
Reply | Threaded
|

Harvey
Administrator
Gunny J wrote
This layoff stuff is nothing new
I've been with our company since 1986 and we been through 4 down turns that threatened our existence. Here's how this one is different for us.

The speed that it happened. We saw the other downturns coming much farther in advance.

The responsibility I have for others. Two of us made all the decisions.